Current Members

Dr Sridhar Ravi

Group Leader

Dr. Sridhar Ravi is a Senior Lecturer in the School of Engineering and Information Technology at UNSW Canberra and leader of the Bio-Engineering Group.

Dr. Sridhar Ravi completed PhD from RMIT University in 2011. For his PhD, Dr. Ravi studied the influence of wind turbulence on the aerodynamic performance of wings. Between 2012 and 2014 he was a Post-Doc in the Dept. of Organismic and Evolutionary Biology in Harvard University where he studied insect and bird flight in complex spatial and wind environments. From 2015 – 2017 Dr. Ravi worked in Chiba University and University of Bielefeld on JSPS Fellowship and Alexander von Humboldt Fellowship respectively. There he studied bio-inspired design and neuroethology of flight through complex environments. Dr Ravi returned to Australia in 2017 as a Lecturer in RMIT University in 2019 joined UNSW-Canberra as a Senior Lecturer.

Email: sridhar.ravi@adfa.edu.au

Dr Soudeh Mazharmanesh

Research Associate

TOPIC: Effects of passive wing rotation on aerodynamic performance of flapping wings

Email: soudeh.mazharmanesh@adfa.edu.au

Dr Qiuxiang Huang

Research Associate

TOPIC: Effects of passive wing rotation on aerodynamic performance of flapping wings

Email: qxhuang2013@gmail.com

Dr Fiorella Ramirez Esquivel

Research Associate

TOPIC: The biomechanics of miniature active venom delivery systems

Email: f.esquivel@adfa.edu.au

PhD Students

Karthick Dhileep

TOPIC: Locomotion of mosquito larvae and pupae

Supervision Team: Sridhar Ravi, John Young

Email: k.dhileep@adfa.edu.au

Yash Raj Sharma

TOPIC:

Supervision Team: Sridhar Ravi, Matthew Garratt

Email:

Master's Students

Michelle Rossouw

TOPIC: Autonomous blimp flight

Supervision Team: Sridhar Ravi, Matthew Garratt

Email: michelle.rossouw@adfa.edu.au

Undergraduate Students

Julius Emmerson

TOPIC: Effect of tip morphology on the performance of the bee stinger

Supervision Team: Sridhar Ravi, John Young, Fang-Bao Tian

Email: z5214581@ad.unsw.edu.au

Claudia Klose

TOPIC: Fluid mechanics of the honey bee stinger

Supervision Team: Sridhar Ravi, Fiorella Ramirez Esquivel, Jong-Leng Liow

Email: z5208185@unsw.edu.au

Ryan Locke

TOPIC: Flight Control of a Miniature Blimp with Bioinspired Propulsion

Supervision Team: Sridhar Ravi, Matthew Garratt

Email: r.locke@student.unsw.edu.au